US congressmen voice support for Poland-backed regional project

More than a dozen Democratic and Republican members of the US Congress in a letter to US President Joe Biden have expressed their support for the Polish-Croatian regional cooperation initiative that now comprises 12 Central and Eastern European countries.

The congressmen stressed the importance of the Three Seas Initiative, which focuses on developing cross-border energy and infrastructure links, for building the region's economic and political independence. Recognising the fact that the new administration's foreign policy is just being forged, they also advocated financial support for the project.

The politicians said the initiative helps the region gain independence from the influence of Russia and China in the areas of energy and economy.

Krzysztof Szczerski, the chief aide to Polish President Andrzej Duda, told PAP that the letter is proof that both US parties support he initiative.

"We've been trying to ensure that the Thee Seas Initiative gains support that would not be affected by political changes in the United States," Szczerski said. "We've managed to do that, we've built such support."

According to Szczerski, "the congressmen's appeal clearly shows the strategic role of the Three Seas in tansatlantic relations."

"It is very positive that at the onset of new administration's term, the congressmen have supported the Three Seas so strongly, because it will likely have (...) influence on the US administration's policy," Szczerski said.

The presidential aide also referred to recent telephone conversations that he and the head of Poland's National Security Bureau, Pawel Soloch, had held with the new national security advisor to Joe Biden, Jack Sullivan. Szczerski said he and Soloch had been told that "the new US administration is willing to continue support for the Three Seas."

The Three Seas Initiative was established in 2015 by the Polish and Croatian presidents in order to promote cross-country energy and infrastructure links. The project now groups 12 member countries located between the Adriatic, Baltic and Black Seas, namely Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia.