Ten new towns to appear on map of Poland in 2019

There will be ten new towns in Poland in 2019 under a decision taken by the government, the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Administration announced in a press release on Friday.

The ministry stressed in its press release sent to PAP that all the new towns had once possessed town status in the past.

The ministry emphasised that the decision was taken to mark Poland's independence centenary as the town status has been restored in the cases of towns which were deprived of it following repressions after the January Uprising (1863), after the Swedish wars (17th century) and after WWII.

According to the Central Statistical Office (GUS), there were 930 town in Poland in 2018.