Russia bans flights from Poland, Czech Republic and Bulgaria

Darek Delmanowicz/PAP

Russia has said it is closing its airspace to flights from Poland, the Czech Republic and Bulgaria in response to similar measures introduced by these countries due to Moscow’s invasion of Ukraine earlier this week.

Flights from these countries can now only be carried out with special permission from the federal air transport agency Rosaviation or the Russian Foreign Ministry, Rosaviation said on Saturday.

According to Rosaviation, it is a response to those countries' decisions to ban the entry of planes registered in Russia or used by Russian carriers into their territories.

On Friday, Poland, the Czech Republic and Bulgaria moved to close their airspace to all Russian planes as a punitive measure following Moscow's invasion of Ukraine.

Meanwhile, Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania on Saturday also said they were banning Russian flights.