President appoints new cabinet

Morawiecki said his government's main task was to make Poland “the best country to live in in Europe” and encourage Polish job emigres to return to the country. Radek Pietruszka/PAP

President Andrzej Duda appointed Poland's new government under to-date PM Mateusz Morawiecki in a Friday ceremony at Warsaw's Presidential Palace. In his address to the ministers, Duda said their service benefited society and the Polish state.

Duda observed that most of the Friday-appointed ministers came from the previous government line-up, and said that made them "well-tested" in public service.

"For the most part you are already well-tested (...) in service for the country, in service for your fellow citizens, for our people and the Polish state," the president said. He also congratulated the new government and said he knew its work entailed numerous difficulties.

Duda gave his assurance that his doors were always open to the government and that he was ready to discuss even the most difficult problems.

"I want you to know that the doors of the Presidential Palace are always open to you, especially to the prime minister, the deputy PMs, government ministers (...). I am ready to discuss even the hardest matters, and such dialogue will most probably take place. If I am part of this dialogue, I will always be most grateful for it, and I want you to always remember that I am ready to help even in the most difficult circumstances, and am always prepared to carry my part of the weight if it is to serve the common good of the Republic," Duda said.

Morawiecki said his government's main task was to make Poland "the best country to live in in Europe" and encourage Polish job emigres to return to the country.

"Our main goal, our goal of goals, is to make Poland the best country to live in in Europe, a country to which those who have left will return, and for all who live in Poland to feel content and happy," Morawiecki said.

The PM stressed that Poland was a major value to all Poles and that his government's chief concern "is and will remain Poland, which is a big thing, the biggest thing for us all, for all Poles." He also thanked voters for their support in the recent parliamentary elections, and said that with their votes they had "confirmed the direction of change and the steps undertaken to repair the Republic."

The new government has no Ministry of Energy, Ministry of Entrepreneurship and Technology or Ministry of Investment and Development. Instead, a Ministry of Development has been added along with a Ministry of Funds and Regional Policy and a Ministry of State Assets. The former Ministry of Environment is now divided into two separate entities: the Ministry of Environment and the Ministry of Climate.

PM Morawiecki will temporarily run the Ministry of Sport, talks are ongoing with two candidates to take on the sports ministry.

The deputy prime ministers remain Piotr Gliński, who will also serve as minister of culture and national heritage, Jarosław Gowin, who will maintain his position in the last cabinet as minister of science and higher education, and Jacek Sasin, who will also fulfill the minister of state assets position.

Tadeusz Kościński has been appointed minister of finance, Marlena Maląg minister of family, labour and social policy, Michał Kurtyka minister of climate and Małgorzata Jarosińska-Jedynak minister of funds and regional policy.

In addition, Michał Woś has been appointed minister-member of the Council of Ministers and will eventually become minister of environment. Due to the period of division of the former environment ministry, Woś could not be appointed to the environment portfolio because a change of law is needed to divide government administration.

Jacek Czaputowicz remains as foreign minister, however erstwhile Deputy Foreign Minister Konrad Szymański has been appointed minister-member of the Council of Ministers and will continue to be responsible for European affairs.

Jadwiga Emilewicz was made minister of development, Andrzej Adamczyk minister of infrastructure, Jan Krzysztof Ardanowski minister of agriculture and rural development, Marek Zagórski minister of digital affairs and Marek Gróbarczyk remains as minister of maritime economy and inland waterways.

Mariusz Błaszczak retains the defence portfolio, Mariusz Kamiński is minister of interior and administration, Zbigniew Ziobro minister of justice, Łukasz Szumowski minister of health and Dariusz Piontkowski minister of education.

Michał Dworczyk was appointed minister-member of the Council of Ministers and will remain the head of the Prime Minister's Office. And Łukasz Schreiber serves as minister-member of the Council of Ministers and will head the Standing Committee of the Council of Ministers.