Polish government extends border controls until June 12

Darek Delmanowicz/PAP

Poland's government has decided to extend border controls for another 30 days, until June 12, the Interior Ministry said in a statement on Wednesday.

Border controls at crossing points with Germany, Lithuania, the Czech Republic and Slovakia are to be extended by 30 days, from May 14 until June 12. Interior Minister Mariusz Kaminski has signed an amendment to the regulation in this matter.

The land border can be crossed at 42 designated points: 18 with the Czech Republic, five with Slovakia, 16 with Germany and three with Lithuania.

Border controls are also in force at four sea ports and 17 airports.