Poland switches to summer time on Sunday

Poland will switch to summer time on Sunday, March 31. At 2:00 a.m. local time, all clocks will be moved forward one hour.

In the European Union, Daylight Saving Time begins on the last Sunday in March and ends on the last Sunday in October. In the EU all time zones change simultaneously.

On Tuesday, the European Parliament voted to scrap from 2021 the practice of moving clocks forward by an hour in spring then back again in the autumn, two years later than the EU executive initially proposed.

If approved by EU member states, the last time shift in the EU will take place in 2021, but individual countries could decide to switch to a single-time system earlier, opting for winter or summer time.

The EP's vote came in the wake of a survey run by the European Commission among 4.6 million European citizens, in which 84 percent supported scrapping time shifts.

The Polish government wants to keep summer time after the seasonal time shifts are gone.