Poland extends flight ban to 44 countries

Poland extends flight ban to 44 countries Jakub Kaczmarczyk/PAP

Poland is banning until September 15 direct flights from 44 countries in order to prevent the spread of the coronavirus in the country, in line with the government's regulation published on Wednesday after midnight.

The restrictions concern such countries as Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Brazil, Spain, Israel, Albania, India, Malta, Moldova, the United States of America, Luxembourg and the Commonwealth of the Bahamas.

The ban does not apply to charter flights carried out on behalf of a tour operator as well as flights at the request of, or approved by, the prime minister, or flights for the Polish or allied armed forces.