Poland extends flight ban to 30 states, including France

Darek Delmanowicz/PAP

Poland is extending its flight ban to 30 countries, including France, until September 29. It will come into force on Wednesday, September 16, according to a new government regulation published in the Journal of Laws.

The regulation is designed to prevent the increased spread of coronavirus.

The previous flight ban, which concerned 44 countries, was in force from September 1 to 15. It has been lifted for Eswatini, Mexico, Qatar, Albania, Armenia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, India, Kosovo, Kazakhstan, North Macedonia, Malta, South Africa, El Salvador, Romania and Luxembourg.

France is the only new country on the new list.

It also includes Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Brazil, Bahrain, Spain, Israel, Qatar, Kuwait, Libya, Argentina, Chile, Guatemala, Honduras, Iraq, Colombia, Costa Rica, Lebanon, the Maldives, Moldova, Namibia, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Surinam, the US, Bolivia, the Bahamas and Cape Verde.

The ban does not apply to charter flights carried out on behalf of a tour operator or to flights at the request of, or approved by, the prime minister, or flights for the Polish or allied armed forces.