Parliamentary elections underway in Poland

The parliamentary election in Poland started at 7:00 am and will end at 9:00 pm on Sunday. Marcin Bielecki/PAP

Poles are heading to the ballot box to elect 460 MPs and 100 senators for a four-year term in a total of 27,415 polling station which opened at 7 am in 41 electoral districts across the country, Wieslaw Kozielewicz, the State Electoral Commission (PKW) head said on Sunday.

"Voting started at 7 o'clock without any obstacles," Kozielewicz said, adding that no delays were recorded at any of the polling stations, including 320 abroad.

However, he added, that since 6 am on Sunday, the PKW had recorded 64 incidents in connection with violations of the electoral silence.

A ban on electioneering, publication of opinion polls and promotion of individual candidates or lists, including online, came into force at midnight on Friday and will last until the end of voting scheduled for 9 pm.

Breaking the electoral silence is punishable by a fine of up to PLN 1 million (EUR 232,000).

Over 30 million Poles are eligible to vote.

There are 5,112 candidates running for seats in the lower house of parliament and 278 candidates for mandates in the Senate (upper house).

Members of the Polish community living in the Western Hemisphere, including some 32,000 in the US, already voted on Saturday until 6 am Sunday Polish time.

The State Electoral Commission (PKW) will hold the next press conference at 1:30 pm when the 12.00 turnout will be given.