International Classical Music Awards ceremony in Katowice

The International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) ceremony  took place on Friday at the seat of the National Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra in Katowice, southern Poland. The awards were established in 2010 in place of the earlier MIDEM Classical Awards.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was granted to the Belgian baritone singer Jose van Dam and Austrian conductor Manfred Honeck was recognised as IMCA's Artist of the Year.

"We are proud of both the extensive, international context of the ICMA awards and their independence. We would like to honour the outstanding achievements of artists who, in terms of creativity, are able to match the composers of the works they perform," ICMA Jury president Remy Franck said.

The Young Artist of the Year award went to Luxembourgish-Autrian percussionist Christoph Sietzen and Polish pianist Szymon Nehring was named an Outstanding Young Polish Artist. 

The winner of the Discovery Award was Chinese flautist Yu Yuan while Alpha was recognised as the Label of the Year.

Special prizes were also awarded. The Krzysztof Penderecki European Centre for Music in Luslawice and the National Symphony Orchestra of the Polish Radio in Katowice, as well as the Russian label Melodiya for its Anthology of Russian Symphonic Music received awards for outstanding achievements.

The ICMA Jury consists of music critics from 14 countries, representing 17 different music magazines and radio stations. After the awards ceremony, a gala concert was held with the participation of the winners.

The programme featured works by: Antonin Dvorak, Witold Lutoslawski, Georg Philipp Telemann and Karol Szymanowski.