Eleven candidates to run in presidential elections - electoral body

Darek Delmanowicz/PAP

The State Electoral Commission (PKW) announced on Saturday that in total 11 candidates are officially running in the presidential elections to be held on June 28.

The list of candidates includes incumbent President Andrzej Duda from the ruling Law and Justice (PiS) party, Warsaw Mayor Rafal Trzaskowski, who represents the main opposition bloc, the centrist Civic Coalition (KO), independent candidate Szymon Holownia, far-right Konfederacja (Confederation) candidate Krzysztof Bosak, the pro-agrarian Polish People's Party (PSL)'s Wladyslaw Kosiniak-Kamysz as well as the Left (Lewica)'s runner, Robert Biedron.

Among other candidates are Marek Jakubiak from the right-wing Federation for Poland (Federacja dla Rzeczpospolitej), Miroslaw Piotrowski, representing the right-wing Christian Europa Christi (Ruch Prawdziwa Europa) (Europe of Christ - True Europe Movement), Independent candidates Pawel Tanajno and Waldemar Witkowski as well as Stanislaw Zoltek from New Right Congress (Kongress Nowej Prawicy).

On June 2, President Duda signed a bill setting the principles of organising the 2020 presidential elections during the coronavirus epidemic. Under the new rules, Poles will be able to vote in polling stations with adherence to a strict sanitary regime, or by post, for those willing. Although the law provides for the possibility of re-registering candidates who were to participate in the presidential election on May 10 (without having to re-collect signatures of support), it also gave new candidates the right to run.