Eastern European presidents condemn Russian bombing of Ukraine's cities

The presidents of the Bucharest Nine group of Nato's eastern flank countries have condemned Russia's missile strikes against Ukrainian cities on Monday that left at least 19 people dead.

Their joint declaration was also signed by the heads of state of Montenegro and North Macedonia, although the two countries are not part of the Bucharest Nine.

"We, the Presidents of Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania and Slovakia condemn the mass bombardments of Ukrainian cities recently carried out by Russia, which constitute war crimes under international law," the presidents wrote in a statement that was published on the Polish President's Office website on Tuesday.

The heads of state warned that "war crimes and crimes against humanity are not subject to any statute of limitations and are covered by jurisdiction of courts all over the world.”

"On behalf of our states we demand that Russia immediately stops attacking civilian targets. We will not cease our efforts to bring to court the persons responsible for today's crimes," they added.

The presidents also said they found "any threats by Russian representatives to use nuclear weapons unacceptable."